The Walking Dead: How Ms. Scaredy Girl enjoyed Zombies

Warning: If you have not seen The Walking Dead and intend to, proceed with caution. There may be spoilers, but I have tried to be as neutral about it as I could.

2iazaev

I.do.not.like.scary.movies.

It’s really as simple as that. I cannot, in any way shape or form, sit through anything like Evil Dead. (just thinking about that has me just about peeing my pants). I’m a scaredy cat! I have always had aversions to the white knuckled “what is around the corner?!” type scares. And blood and gore, are not for me. I do not like faces that are all twisted with blood….blegh,

Just blegh with a side of blegh.

Then came The Walking Dead. I saw it advertised on my Netflix. I was apprehensive to even go near it as the only thing I had seen of it were those ugly zombie faces ready to eat mine.  (there is that side of blegh)

However, I put Season 1 on my Netflix list.

And there is sat, waiting…taunting me. Staring at me….telling me to just push the play button already.

walking-dead-netflix_616

And then, I did.netflixplayadd

At first, I watched it on my small computer screen with my mouse hovering over  “switch tabs”. I was nervous.  I was clenching my fists waiting for the scare or holding onto my Eeyore plushie to hide behind him while he protected me.

Save me Eeyore!

Save me Eeyore!

As I continued to watch, I realized that I did have my Big Girl Panties on and could get through this.

I watched all of Season 1 on Netflix and I had a Walking Dead marathon. I was captivated by the storyline, the characters. I was amazed how I kept relating these people to myself. This show had me asking myself questions like, “What would I have done?” and  “Would I have made the decision that Jackie did at the CDC?” (Don’t know what I’m referring to? Look it up here. (possible spoiler) It’s a decision that I’m sure a lot would have made).

As the episodes carried on, I realized that my mouse was no longer in the fast “switch tabs” position.  I noticed that I was no longer clenching my fists waiting for the scare and that Eeyore was able to rest from saving me from the Zombie blegh.

I was engaged yet never really prepared for the emotional outbursts I would have. The first was at the middle of Season 2. For those who have not seen it, I say get to that please. But out of respect, I will not ruin it.

After coming away from an episode in the middle of Season 2, I was crying. No, bawling! Not because I was scared. I was truly sad. I was sad at how the story line turned. It was like I was right there, looking for a lost little girl with them. It was then I knew, outbursts, were going to happen.

Oh and they did. My T.V. has seen many assaults with a water bottle thrown by me and I’ve jumped up screaming “NNOOOO!” numerous times. My cat thinks I’m a loon.

h6C3894C9

So I come to this. How does one take a Zombie filled show, desensitize a scaredy cat like me from said Zombies and throw me into the lives of the characters and the choices they have to make?

Well the answer is very simple. In MY opinion, this show was never, really about the gore and scare tactics of a Zombie. In fact, it was well known that the people in this storyline, know nothing about Zombies compared to our real world. Hence, they called them “Walkers” not Zombies.

Yes, many scenes, (one in particular, in an RV….poor poor little white boy), had me cringing  with that side of blegh. But there were many more scenes involving the interactions between the living, not the dead, that made me ask questions like “what would the general populace REALLY do if something like this occurred?”

The answer to that question lies in this simple statement:

We will NEVER know what people would do in a world like what is portrayed in The Walking Dead.

This is why. I firmly believe, for the sake of this topic, if, right now, this world was thrown into a scene from The Night of the Living Dead (that black and white movie scared me to bits….that tells you how much I was a scaredy cat, I wasn’t kidding), that yes, people would more than likely run amuck and it would be a free for all, every man for himself type of situation. This, in itself, is most terrifying for me because I am a mother and would want to do nothing else but protect my kid. Obviously.

People would eventually lose their minds and snap, (Governor).  Heck, people are snapping in THIS day and age and there are no Zombies to be seen. (Uh man eating face because of bath salts doesn’t count….or does it?!?! ).

We ALL carry the virus” – Yup, I think we do, its called Cancer. See the correlation?

However, if you’ve seen any of the show, it is believed that people will want to re-group. They will want to follow someone. That is how humans are wired.

Would major cities look like this?

Would a major metropolis city, look like this? (photo courtesy of IGN.com)

Well, yes and no.

Yes, because, I do think that everything will just be a mess, all over, as there will be no order, no police, no sense of standard.

I say no, because I think it would be A LOT worse, and I mean A LOT worse than any movie or show we could ever get from “Hollywood”. I believe it would be beyond what our  minds could imagine. I mean, for the sake of this Zombie filled world we portray, with a CITY full of dead bodies, the smell alone would make people lose their minds.

Would I learn to wield a katana? Hell ya and use it pretty good.  If anything, I would teach The Boy to survive and that would mean, becoming a bad ass.

As a Christian, do I think God would allow something like this to happen. Well, yes. He even says it will. It is called The Rapture.

Matthew 24:39-41

39 and they knew nothing about what would happen until the flood came and took them all away. That is how it will be at the coming of the Son of Man. 40 Two men will be in the field; one will be taken and the other left. 41 Two women will be grinding with a hand mill; one will be taken and the other left.

Those left behind will be left in a world to deal the 7 years of trials and tribulations, according to the Bible. I see the dead rising and eating the living as a pretty terrifying trial and tribulation to get through.

So, to me, maybe not to you, but to me, if I do end up seeing a world like this…then I did something wrong to piss God off because I was not the one of the two taken to enjoy his Kingdom in Heaven. Whoops….

(ok that was my bible beating take on this subject…moving on)

If this show could be summed up in one sentence, to my interpretation, it would be this:

“Fear the living, more than the dead”

3 thoughts on “The Walking Dead: How Ms. Scaredy Girl enjoyed Zombies

  1. “However, if you’ve seen any of the show, it is believed that people will want to re-group. They will want to follow someone. That is how humans are wired”

    it’s that whole ‘herd’ instinct they teach in psychology…..

    isn’t funny how fascinated people are with zombie movies? A few years ago I was really into them and any time I had a chance to see one, I would…..

    my favorite is the comedy, Shawn of the Dead…hands down the best zombie movie if you ask me 🙂

  2. Ya I think some people were meant to always be followers no matter how bad the situation. There’s usually only 1 or 2 people out of group who really want to take on the role as the alpha.

    It’s so hard to say what would happen if SHTF. I think you would start out on your own and find other loners along the way cause it would be really difficult to be able to jump into a large group. But of course, who knows. Hahaha. Here I am theorizing what would happen if it all went down.

    You need to buy a shotgun!

  3. Pingback: Hockey and Zombies | Is the Coffee ready yet?!

Any thoughts?

