I want the cartoons of my youth back!

This post stems from a short conversation I was having in a blog I follow, Beaten Into Submission. He had posted about insomnia and threw some Ren and Stimpy in there.

I *squee’d* silently inside.

Ren and Stimpy

Ren and Stimpy

Ren and Stimpy  = Happy Happy Joy Joy

I was instantly thrown on the time machine and I was a teenager again. I remember I used to wait and stay up to watch me some Ren and Stimpy. I even named my hamster Stimpy because I loved them so much. The humor of these guys were so unique, sometimes gross and included a lot of bodily functions but man….it was hilarious!

My favorites:

182723

The Happy Helmet, the episode which housed the Happy Happy Joy Joy song.

 

Powdered Toast Man – who doesn’t love Cinnamon Powdered farts!

And of course who could ever forget when something…came out of Stimpy’s butt….

Ren and Stimpy aired on Nickelodeon from 1991 to about 1996, the exact years I was a teen. Now, they are only on YouTube and I will neither confirm nor deny I have a Playlist that consists of just Ren and Stimpy cartoons.

However, my hair conditioner is rightly named Happy Happy Joy Joy…No Joke

 

Beavis and Butthead

Courtesy of Wikipedia

Those who simply read that, know exactly the kind of humor I’m talking about. I actually didn’t watch it as much as others but I still appreciated the humor.  They really don’t make cartoons like this anymore. Also, around my teen years,  Beavis and Butthead were exactly what the average teen was thought to be.

My favorite is when Butthead starts choking on a piece of chicken and Beavis thinks he needs to lick his…ahem…well see for yourself.

Beavis and Butthead originally aired from 1993-1997

 

Animaniacs

Courtesy of Wikipedia

Ah…the Warner Brothers….and Sister!

I couldn’t even BEGIN to pick a favorite. I loved these guys so much I would record them on my parents VCR every afternoon. I had about 5 video tapes of just about all the shows. That was back in 1993. I made the mistake of lending those tapes to my aunt to let her son watch. I never saw them again 😦

My favorite of their craziness is Schnitzelbank yet I also liked The Great Wakkoratti.

Animaniacs originally aired from 1993-1998

Bugs Bunny and company

imagesCA54RDCA

Now we are dead set in the 80’s. I was raised on Bugs Bunny, Daffy Duck and the whole Looney Tunes gang. I used to quote their crazy sayings as a kid. My parents thought I was nuts because I would say these random things but I was really quoting from a Bugs Bunny cartoon.

I can still do Marvin the Martian’s voice…..

The antics of Wiley E. Coyote were always good for a laugh.  How many times can he botch up a kidnapping? Well, just about over a thousand times!

And by the way, I hate that Road Runner….

wpid-facebook_71956251.jpg

I believe my favorite movie of all time features both Bugs Bunny and Mickey Mouse along with a whole array of other cartoon characters from all across the cartoon board.

From Who Framed Roger Rabbit

Courtesy of Wikipedia

On his way to the Coachella Valley for the “big carrot festival, therein,” Bugs Bunny gets lost, and wanders into a bullring in the middle of a bullfight between Toro the bull and a very nervous matador.

 

 

 

My favorite Bugs Bunny cartoon is What’s Opera Doc? but a close second was Bully for Bugs.  The antics in that one are pretty hilarious.

 

 

And there you have it. A look at the cartoons that made me the smart assed, crazy, Happy Happy Joy Joy person I am today.

Did any of those bring back memories for you?

3 thoughts on “I want the cartoons of my youth back!

  1. lol omg i love the happy happy joy joy bit – that was my very first thought as i saw the cartoon at the top before clicking on this post haha – awesome. i loved (still love) who framed roger rabbit – fabulous movie! i didn’t do animaniacs or beavis and butthead so much because my humor wasn’t with them so much but still – those were the days. im a big fan of reminiscing – its good times. thanks for sharing all that! 🙂

Any thoughts?

