Weekly Weigh in – Things that feel different this time

Today, is the 1 month mark of this journey. It’s time to jump on the scale again and see what’s what.  I know I said this the last time, but the appetite suppressants really work.  I am someone who will tend to over eat, badly. As of the past 3 weeks, I am literally pushing half finished plates away rather than eating the whole plate and then some more. Sometimes, I don’t even want to eat, but do because I can’t not eat, but the portion is super small. It’s like food isn’t on the top of my agenda now. It’s hard to explain, but very real.

I’ve noticed some other things different this time around, as I have done this many times in my 36 years on this planet.

Slow and Steady

I’m noticing that it isn’t coming off as fast right away. Seeing it come off fast right at the beginning is something that has happened in the past. For instance, the last time I did this was a year ago with Jenny Craig. The first week, I lost 6 lbs, then about 2-3 average a week (only did that for about a  month though, then it came right back on).  It coming off slowly isn’t necessarily a bad thing.  Usually, when it comes off fast, it goes right back on faster. I’m learning how to make better choices and doing it over time.

Eat This, Not That

I’m adjusting to how I can eat and what choices I have when I am cutting out things like breads and pastas.  I still go out to restaurants but forgo things like the bread basket. I also still visit the drive thru’s on occasion, very rarely.

For instance, I went through the McDonald’s drive through on Wednesday to quickly pick up something for The Boy. I knew I needed to eat but there is really nothing at McDonald’s I can have and I can’t stand their weak salads. Then I noticed the new Chicken McWrap.

mcdonalds_mcwrap

I knew that the flour tortilla was a big no-no so I just ate half of it and pretty much ate the chicken and lettuce inside. It was pretty good and I believe a much better choice than the Big Mac and Fries.  I actually rarely go to McDonald’s though but, when I do, the McWrap will be my new choice.

Where the fat leaves first

When I started this journey at 245 lbs, that was the highest weight I’ve ever been and I think the reason it’s coming off differently than it has before.  I think my face is showing it first, that is usually what happens. However, my pants are not fitting significantly looser and at this point they usually are.  However, I don’t feel like I’m a stuffed sausage in my pants anymore. So that is always a good thing. It’s not anything that discourages me though.  It’s just interesting.

You MUST work out 7 days a week for 2 hours!

No, actually, I don’t! I used to be obsessed with power walking for miles on end on that silly treadmill. I just can’t focus on exercise like that this time around. What I try to do is just simply move. Whether its cleaning the house, going out to the pool to play with The Boy, walking around the mall or just plugging in my dance music and dancing in my living room! I just need to move. My apartment complex does have a nice little exercise room with ellipticals, treadmills and weight lifting and I do visit it about 2 times a week. But I don’t obsess about getting in there every single day.  When I do get in there, it’s a power walk on the treadmill for about 30 minutes.  I’m not going to tire myself out just to get a workout every single day. It’s still coming off.

Design_L_

The Boy made a great observation a few days ago. We went to get Cold Stone’s (yes, I had a small size of chocolate with some peanut butter….) and he dropped his spoon. I quickly bent down and picked it up as to avoid it being on the floor longer than it needed to. The Boy stated that I bent down and stood back up fairly quickly. He said that in the past, I would do things like that slowly, haggardly, without any energy.

I thought about that for a moment and found that VERY interesting. That is something I have never considered. It’s the little goals that make the big difference. 

Anyway, onto today’s weigh in…… 

Today’s results:

3 more lbs down!

Total : 13 lbs lost in a month! 

I want to keep seeing those dots going down…..

14 thoughts on “Weekly Weigh in – Things that feel different this time

  1. Eat This, Not that is always my test of will power. It’s hard to go to your favorite places and not order the dinners you used to pick up. When I eat at home it’s so much easier to control healthier decisions.

    • Yes you are very right. Eating out is a big challenge. Especially when it comes to desserts. I do enjoy my coffee with something sweet at the end of a meal. I’ve had to forgo that.

  2. Feeling good in your clothes is a good sign that you’re getting results. Feeling good is probably the most important thing about weight loss. Best of luck to you! I’m trying it myself! Well, sort of…I’m drinking a beer as I type this so I guess I suck at it.

  3. Great stuff. Keep it up. The best thing for me has been taking my son the park. The walk to and from the park is great, plus the jumping and climbing and playing with him!

  4. awesome! way to stick to your goals realistically. finding balance is definitely a good way to go. now to get me on that bandwagon fully haha. congratulations to you and keep up the good work! 🙂

  5. I get so frustrated with the slow and steady losses. I know it’s better for you, but I want to see results now, dammit! If I’m going to forgo my favorite things, I should be able to see right away that it’s making a difference, right?
    Keep plugging. I need to get back on the horse as well. At this point even my “fat clothes” are tight. And I refuse to buy new clothes, so I guess changing the eating/exercise is what I need to do. *sigh*

    • I know exactly what you mean. I still have yet to feel my pants looser even after a 13lbs loss. I am hoping I’m losing it somehwere else other than my hips and thighs or that because I had more to lose than ever, its just feeling different.

      • I always get frustrated because I always (ALWAYS!) lose it in my boobs and waist first, which I don’t mind but I really want to lose it in the face first. And that’s where I really want to see it right away.

  6. I’m so happy to read these updates, Claudia. My own weight loss is coming along too, but I don’t know how many pounds because I refuse to get on a scale. I always lose weight from the top down, which is frustrating because it’s my hips and butt that I really want to lose it from. Bah.

Any thoughts?

