Weekly Weigh In – My first “good” picture

I had a cousin visiting from Chicago so there was a family lunch at my sister’s condo this past Sunday.  Of course, lots of photos were being taken and I refused to look at any of them, as I have always refused to look at the photos I’m in because I knew what I looked like and that I wouldn’t like it.

On Sunday, I was finally convinced to look at one and lo and behold…I looked DAMN GOOD!

I couldn’t contain my joy and was jumping up and down at how I had NO waist and NO thighs in this photo.  Well, compared to photos I’ve taken about 5 months ago.  My family, on my father’s side, tend to be very fat and over eat a lot.  My cousin, who just had a baby, had about 4 or 5 slices of pizza (big Costco pizza slices at that!) and my cousin from Chicago ate twice as much.  My aunts and uncle are the same.  Not to mention the chips and dip, the chocolate chip cookies and pound cake that was served.  I refused to eat any of the pizza that was being served and made a be-line for the fruit and cucumbers.

So as boastful or “high horse” as it may sound, I was inside rejoicing that I can, and will, fight genetics that is imbued into my DNA and could very well be the best looking cousin in my family brood.

I also was able to pull and zip up another size 11/12 skinny jeans that were in my closet.

Lots of victories this week 🙂

Anyway, what were today’s results??

 1 more lb down!

Total: 43 lbs lost as of May 4, 2013! 

LilySlim Weight charts

Meh…I’m hitting a stand still again.  I’m back to 1 or 2 lbs a week, which actually isn’t bad just something I’m not used to.  Still, in the 4 months I’ve been doing this, the scale has been constantly going down, never maintain or going up.  That is a good thing!

I passed my “half way” point according to the clinic I weigh in at and that monitors my vitals.  They have my goal at 168 lbs, however we all know I’m going way below that if I can.  But since that is the goal they set for me, to them, I have passed my half way mark.  Therefore, I got a new sheet for step two of their plan:

Step 2

Oh so NOW I can eat fruit?! Uh..oops…been eating fruit since the very beginning of all this.  This only solidly establishes my theory of “to each their own”.  Every body is different and fruit (or the carbs in it), never hurt me one bit.  In fact, I’m enjoying a Razzamatazz from Jamba Juice as I type this, although it is a bit sweet and I probably won’t finish it.

Oh wait…so NOW I can exercise to?! Uh…oops again.  I have been doing that solidly 4-5 times a week for the last 3 months.

Haha!

11 thoughts on “Weekly Weigh In – My first “good” picture

  1. Congratulations! I know the hard work it takes and pictures are a big realization of where you are and your progress. I feel like it is much better than looking in a mirror. I took “before” pics and I cannot wait to take the “after” pics when I get to my goal.
    I have just started blogging about my road to being healthy 🙂 hoping this helps me stay motivated.

  2. Pingback: I guess I work hard….so you don’t have to! | Is the Coffee ready yet?!

    • You aren’t kidding! The pizza smelled SO good. But for some reason, watching them piling on plate after plate of greasy pizza, was making me nauseous. That made it a bit easier to make the right choices.

  3. 1 pound a week is pretty damn good. You would be 52 pounds less in 1 year! That’s really significant. Ya, I never bought into the whole idea of not eating fruit if you’re trying to lose weight. As long as you’re not getting an abundance of sugar from any other foods then it should be fine. Fruits were meant to be part of the human diet.

Any thoughts?

