My cat has Kidney Disease

Last night, I had to leave my cat to spend three nights in the hospital.

image

After the exam, xrays and blood work the doctor said that he was dehydrated because of the vomiting. He also has a slight bacterial infection in his mouth.  But more importantly, he also has chronic kidney disease.

He will get IV fluids in him and get antibiotics for the bacteria infection.  The Boy and I will visit him every day after I pick him up from school.  We’ll bring him home Friday with medications and food.

It was hard leaving the hospital without bringing him home, but I had to keep my composure for The Boy’s sake.  It was even harder sitting on my couch and not seeing him walking around anywhere.

I kept my composure until after I put The Boy to bed and got in the shower to wash this cruddy day off.  Then I cried.  I’m going to be a basket case when it’s that cat’s time to really go. And don’t even ask how much it was to have him in the hospital three nights with IV’s in him. Honestly, I didn’t really care about the cost.

So, he will be on medications and on a special diet for the rest of his life.  I also think I may invest in pet insurance, especially if I’m going to be paying for medications on a regular basis.

I’m better now but I know these will be the longest three days of my life.

5 thoughts on “My cat has Kidney Disease

  1. Pet insurance might help for future stuff, but now that you know he has kidney disease they won’t cover any treatment or medication for it because it’s pre-existing. That is one of the downfalls of pet insurance – you have to get it before anything goes wrong.

  2. Pingback: I cried… | Is the Coffee ready yet?!

  3. Pingback: Weekly Weigh In – Hockey here I come! | Is the Coffee ready yet?!

  4. Pingback: Weekly Weigh In – I’m officially at a plateau….. | Is the Coffee ready yet?!

Any thoughts?

